Storyboarding

In the last workshop we spent two fascinating hours talking about storyboards, a graphic organiser for the production team to execute the ideas and then put them into action. Or with wikipedia‘s words:

storyboard is a graphic organizer in the form of illustrations or images displayed in sequence for the purpose of pre-visualizing a motion picture, animation, motion graphic or interactive media sequence.

We also differentiated between different scenarios in which a storyboard could be used, or with other words, the different purposes of storyboarding. It is mainly used for video productions like films. Besides that, storyboards are used for analog productions like theatre plays, manuals, comic books, website designs or even planning your own day (if you are fancy and rich anyways). And finally, the last “usage category” we discussed is interactive storyboarding, which is used for games, augmented reality, motion graphics, animation, and presentations.

The thing about storyboards is that they do kind of freak me out. As you will be able to see in a bit, I cannot draw well – the truth is I cannot draw at all, but saying I cannot draw well makes it sound better – so if I were to actually present my storyboard to a production team, misunderstandings would happen. A lot. Besides that, I am known to be quite indecisive (ffs I can’t even decide what I want to have for breakfast) so what if I do manage to finish a storyboard only to then completely change my vision? Better not do anything at all then, right… This blog is really not doing anything for my image. Point is, here is a list of things I, and my course-people, are afraid of regarding storyboards:

  • vision changes (and having to start from scratch again)
  • unclear drawings
  • over- or underplanning
  • misunderstandings or misinterpretations
  • over-exaggeration
  • over-estimation
  • unrealistic ideas
  • lack of skills and resources needed to fulfil the vision
  • no time or money
  • complexity

The bold fears are the ones I personally consider the most likely to happen to me. So I guess the final question is what do I do when one of these things happens to me?

(Honestly, I would probably just cry for a bit but I guess that would not be considered as an actual answer so whatever.)

Communication is key. If you think about it, I am not going to finish that storyboard, hand it in and then disappear until the movie is done. I will get feedback while working and I can explain my idea (or my drawings) to the production team if questions should arise. Furthermore, I should keep the storyboard as simple as possible and work on it in parts. I won’t just start drawing, but think about it first, basically, break the work into tiny pieces which I finish one after the other. (It gives me an excuse to treat myself more, too.)

Finally, here is my storyboard for the final scene in Gravity, so I present to you How Gravity Should Have Ended. (Please don’t sue me, YouTube people, I’m a student and don’t have any money anyways.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

