Typography

Typography, as we know it today, started with the classic Roman letters. Their letterform consists of clear geometric elements which create a certain coherence. Nowadays, typography is mainly used on paper, to tell a story, or on screen, to mark the opening and ending of a story. There is an uncountable amount of fonts, which are divided into type styles. Those are from the same family so they have a common structure but they are also visually distinct. To keep a natural flow and to make a font readable, the proper optical letter spacing is very important. Accuracy describes the different weight of each letter which is dependent on the surrounding letters. For example, an A will look different on its own (A), next to a N (AN) or to a G (AG). Optical accuracy is more important than geometric accuracy in order to “satisfy” the eye which “wants” to see perfection. In handwriting, this perfection is ruptured by emotion, created by the need for motion from the hand. However, in manufactured typefaces, the goal is to create the illusion of evenness, unity and balance.

I found some good examples for typography animation on youtube. I especially like the first video, not only because it is one of my favourite songs but also because I like how the designer took the lyrics quite literal and created an animation of the song instead of animating the lyrics. This can be seen in the second video as well, at 0:08 for example, when the word nurture is visualised by a plant being watered. I like Apple’s ad because in contrast to the other two videos, they did not just add typography in post production but also used the real world while filming. Again, this can be seen in the lyric video of Sorry by Justin Bieber. (Honestly, I am not a big fan of his music but that video is brilliant.)


I am a different person to different people. Annoying to one. Talented to another. Quiet to a few. Unknown to a lot. But who am I, to me?

I am quiet, I am shy and introverted. I am weird and only when the right people are around my face lights up and I can’t stop smiling. If I want something I am dedicated but otherwise I’m lazy. What I’m trying to say is, personalities are complicated and you cannot possibly fit something this complex into a single font but since I have to decide on a typeface that at least represents a fraction of who I am, here is a list of fonts I found and liked.

Honestly though, the only font that really is me, is probably my handwriting, so I decided to scan it in and create my own font:

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-12-39-26handwriting


Ergo Group, a German insurance service company, was founded in 1997 and has its headquarters in Duesseldorf. In 2010, the company rebranded itself, seen by their new logo design [“nachher”]. The new logo seems opener and friendlier. The letters are rounder and give the company a softer touch, even the colour is slightly brighter and seems more inviting and overall the design is less stiff and harsh.

Furthermore, the colour red symbolises power, the will to survive, strength and leadership qualities. Further associated characteristics are a pioneering spirit, ambition, determination, confidence and a strong will. (Why ever would a company want to be associated with such traits?)

ergo-logo
http://www.designtagebuch.de/ergo-versicherungsgruppe-modifiziert-markenauftritt/

Considering the company’s physical and digital representation, I decided on three different fonts which fit Ergo’s brand identity:

http://www.dafont.com/Alte-Haas-Grotesk.Font

The Alte Haas Grotesk typeface looks quite similar to Helvetica but has softer edges to it and a modern and stylish look while “maintaining” a traditional and professional aura. The font is very light and emphasises the softer look of the new logo. The relatively straight letters create a nice contrast to the round bigger letters.

ergo-logo_altehaas


http://www.fontspace.com/cannot-into-space-fonts/hussar-2

The Hussar typeface has a minimal space between the individual letters, making it harder to read but also symbolising a certain closeness and companionship. I am not sure if I had problems with the download or if it is the font itself, but for some reason it is only available in bold, which brilliantly shows off Ergo’s strength and power.

ergo-logo_hussar


https://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/vollkorn

Finally, the Vollkorn typeface reminds of Times New Roman and makes the company seem older and more classic than it actually is. The serif, the decorative flourish, creates a nice contrast to the minimalist logo design.

ergo-logo_vollkorn

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

